Harnessing Darkness in a Pandemic

Standard

On my 30th birthday, my book was published online. I had a dream come true and checked something off my bucket list. My book was published and I had wonderful speaking/signing opportunities due to my husband’s then-traveling job.

This was July 2019. 8 months later the pandemic started and I simultaneously lost my writing job. So many were/are affected by the pandemic. Lost family. Lost friends. Lost jobs. Lost time. Lost dreams.

I was vulnerable and shared my truth. Then I felt like it was taken away. How was I supposed to promote a book about mental illness and depression during a pandemic when so many were hurting? My book does have hopeful moments, but many of you know the poetry discusses dealing with anxiety, depression, panic attacks, etc.

So I decided to stop. I halted everything. I stopped uploading on my site, on my FB page. But slowly I’d receive a review, message, or note here and there from people I both knew and didn’t know who reached out to tell me that my book helped them. As kind as the words were, I couldn’t help but still feel devastated.

I hope this doesn’t come across as “poor me.” This is my story. I’m sharing again. I’ve had a therapist I’ve never met purchase 20+ books to share with clients to help them determine how they’re feeling or which passages they relate to.

So maybe, just maybe…. I can still make a difference. Over the past week, I’ve had a few people tell me they’ve read some of my book and watched my YouTube video where I spoke at the college I attended – UNA.

So this is me saying to those suffering – perhaps you might want to surround yourself with popcorn television and books. I totally respect that. But if you’re feeling down. If you struggle with anxiety or depression. If the pandemic has you questioning your mental state. If you think hearing/reading someone’s story may help, I’m sharing my information again. I’m leaving links to my book and my YouTube video in the comments.

*******If you would like a signed copy, please direct message me! Thank you!*******

Please feel free to share. Perhaps we all need to know we’re not alone and if I can continue to help someone better understand their own feelings, maybe they can make progress and find some healing.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me. The kind reviews on Goodreads, Amazon, and elsewhere. Thanks for the love. It truly means so much to me.

Leave a comment